The Hulu Terengganu District Council was established on 1 January 1981 under Section 3 of the Local Government Act 1976 (Act 171) (Amended in 1978). It was previously known as Jumaah Bandaran Ulu Terengganu. The official launching of the Ulu Terengganu District Council was inaugurated by the Menteri Besar of Terengganu, YAB Dato 'Seri Amar Diraja Dato' Haji Wan Mokhtar bin Ahmad at the Kuala Brang Municipal Hall on Monday, 30 August 1982.

It is located approximately 40 kilometres from the Kuala Terengganu city centre, covering an area of 53.40 square kilometres and consists of three sub-districts namely Mukim Kuala Berang, Mukim Tanggol and Mukim Penghulu Diman. On 18 July 1996 a regazette was undertaken by which the entire area of the district encompassing 3,874.63 square kilometres is converted into a Local Authority area (Hulu Terengganu District Council).

Now it encompasses seven sub-districts including Mukim Kuala Berang, Mukim Tanggol Mukim Tersat, Mukim Penghulu Diman, Mukim Jenagor, Mukim Hulu Telemong and Mukim Hulu Berang. Additionally, the Hulu Terengganu District Council operates in an area of 53.40 sq kilometres. The administration area on the other hand, is approximately 3,821.23 square kilometres.

Total population (according to 2000 census) is 74.918 people compared to 3.586 people (according to 1970 census) in its early days of inception.
Pin It

21700 Kuala Berang,
Terengganu Darul Iman.

GENERAL LINE : 09-6811 149 / 466
FAX : 09-6811 655
OPERATION HOURS : Sunday - Thursday | 8:00am - 5:00pm

Disclaimer : Hulu Terengganu District Council is not responsible for any loss or damage incurred from the use of information contained in this Portal.